ميشيل ميرفي

بدأت ميشيل ، وهي طالبة في NUI Maynooth ، الجائزة البرونزية في 2010 ، وحصلت على الجائزة الفضية في 2011 وأكملت جولتها الذهبية بواسطة 2013! لا تحب ميشيل شيئًا أفضل من التحدي وقررت أن تبدأ جولتها الذهبية بينما لا تزال تفعل شهادة التخرج.

بالنسبة لقسم مشاركة المجتمع ، كانت ميشيل عضوًا نشطًا في مجلس شباب آركلو. غالبًا ما تم عرض القضايا التي عالجوها على مستوى المقاطعة والوطنية وحتى الدولية. وقد أدى ذلك إلى مشاركتها مع Comhairle na nÓg نائبة للرئيس ، فضلاً عن مشاركتها في المجلس الوطني للشباب في أيرلندا ، لا سيما مع حملة "التصويت في 16". من بين كل هذه الإنجازات ، تم انتخاب شخصية ميشيل العالية كأول رئيسة لمجلس شباب آركلو. لسوء الحظ ، بسبب خفض الأموال ، اضطر مجلس شباب آركلو إلى التوقف عن الجري. تؤكد ميشيل أن هذا جعل مقاطعة كومايرل أقوى وأكثر مرونة.

بهدف المشاركة في سباق الماراثون في Flora للسيدات ، والرغبة في الحصول على اللياقة البدنية ، انضمت ميشيل إلى نادي ألعاب القوى المحلي التابع لها. كما هو الحال مع معظم المجموعات الرياضية ، أثبتت أشهر الشتاء صعوبة في اللقاء والركض ، لكن الجهد المبذول كان مجزيًا للغاية. علمها مدربها العديد من التقنيات لتحسين قدرتها على الركض ، وأهمية الثبات ، في محاولة لتحسين PB في كل مرة يركضون فيها. شاركت ميشيل في سباق الماراثون المصغر ، كجزء من فريق مدرسي ، ركضت إلى فريق قوارب دبلن بلورابيل بادلرز دراغون. بالإضافة إلى تعلم الإيمان بالذات ، والتحكم في الذات ، والمثابرة ، فهي تعتقد أنه لولا ألعاب القوى ، لن تكون قد قطعت شوطًا طويلاً في رحلة المغامرة!

تكمن شغف ميشيل في التزلج على الجليد / التزلج على الجليد. بالنسبة لنشاطها الشخصي ، تعلمت أنواعًا مختلفة من القفزات ، وحسنت مرونتها وقوتها. تشمل أبرز أعمالها أداء الحفلات الموسيقية في أعياد الميلاد وعيد الهالوين وخلال فصل الصيف. على الرغم من بريق التزحلق والتزحلق على الجليد ، إلا أنه كان هناك مطبات وكدمات لتتماشى معها. كالعادة مع الحاصلين على جائزة Gaisce ، تؤتي ثمارها عندما قاتلت ميشيل من الأذى واستمرت في متابعة شغفها. وغالبًا ما تسافر إلى بلفاست لاستخدام حلبة تزلج Dundonald ، بسبب عدم وجود تزلج على الجليد في الجنوب.

تطوعت في صن شاين هاوس في بالبريجان لمشروعها السكني. Sunshine House هو معسكر لقضاء العطلات للأطفال في المناطق المحرومة في دبلن ، ويمنحهم فرصة لقضاء أسبوع في Sunshine House. كانت مسؤولة عن رعاية الأولاد 12 الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 6 و 12. لقد اعتنت بهم وقاموا بالكثير من الأنشطة بما في ذلك الفنون والحرف ، والرحلات إلى الشواطئ ، والرياضة ، وليالي السينما ، وصيد الكنوز. لم يكن الأطفال يشعرون بالملل أبدًا لأنهم كانوا يفعلون شيئًا دائمًا. النقطة العالية والمنخفضة كانت مغادرة الأولاد إلى الوطن والقول وداعا. كانت مسرورة لأنهم كانوا يعرضون على عائلاتهم الصور التي رسموها خلال فترة وجودهم هناك وأنها كانت سعيدة لأنها قد تحدث فرقًا. لقد استمتعت بهذه التجربة لدرجة أنها اشتركت في عمل أسابيع 2 أخرى في الصيف التالي!

شاركت في رحلة نظمتها Gaisce / Tar Eis Oir في رحلة مغامرة. والتقت بمشاركين آخرين من سلوفينيا وجمهورية التشيك وأيرلندا ولاتفيا. لقد خططوا لارتفاعهم لمدة أيام 3 ؛ تشكيل فرق ، واختيار الطرق ، وتخطيط القائمة ، وحتى ممارسة أساليب CPR. كل يوم كانوا يتجولون من 8: 30am إلى 9: 00pm. بعد أيام 4 من رياضة المشي لمسافات طويلة ، صعدوا ما مجموعه جبال 24 ، وتغطوا على 100km. بعد التنزه ، قامت المجموعة باستجواب واستمتعت بالعديد من المعالم السياحية في دبلن. تعتقد ميشيل أن هذا التغيير غيرها كشخص ، وأظهرت تصميمها وقوتها ، وأنها يمكن أن تفعل شيئًا عندما تضعها في اعتبارها. لقد انضمت منذ ذلك الحين إلى نادي روفر للمشي لمسافات طويلة - لأنها كانت مدمن مخدرات بعد الانتهاء من رحلة المغامرة!

السابق
التالى

التعليقات مغلقة.

القائمة الرئيسية

من خلال الاستمرار في استخدام الموقع، فإنك توافق على استخدام ملفات تعريف الارتباط. مزيد من المعلومات

يتم تعيين إعدادات ملفات تعريف الارتباط على هذا الموقع إلى "السماح الكوكيز" لتعطيك أفضل تجربة ممكنة التصفح. إذا كنت الاستمرار في استخدام هذا الموقع دون تغيير إعدادات ملفات تعريف الارتباط الخاصة بك أو النقر فوق "قبول" بالأسفل ثم قمت بالموافقة على ذلك.

أغلق

Michelle Murphy

A student in NUI Maynooth, Michelle began her Bronze award in 2010, she received her Silver award in 2011 and had her Gold completed by 2013! Michelle loves nothing better than a challenge and decided to start her Gold award while still doing her Leaving Certificate.

For her community involvement section, Michelle was an active member of the Arklow Youth Council. The issues they addressed were often brought to a county, national, and even international level. This led to her being involved with Comhairle na nÓg as Vice Chairperson, as well as being involved in the National Youth Council of Ireland, particularly with the “Vote at 16” campaign. Of all these achievements, Michelle’s personal high was being elected as the first female chairperson of Arklow Youth Council. Unfortunately, due to funds being cut, the Arklow Youth Council was forced to stop running. Michelle maintains that this only made the County Comhairle stronger and more resilient.

With the aim of running in the Flora Women’s Mini-Marathon, and wanting to get fit, Michelle joined her local athletics club. As with most athletic groups, the winter months proved tough to meet up and run, but the effort put in was very rewarding. Her coach taught her several techniques to improve her running ability, and the importance of persistence, to try and better their P.B. every time they ran. Michelle did run in the Mini-Marathon, as part of a school team, running for the Dublin Plurabelle Paddlers Dragon-boat team. As well as learning self-belief, self-control, and persistence, she believes that without athletics, she wouldn’t have got very far in her adventure journey!

Michelle’s passion lies in figure skating/off-ice skating. For her personal activity she learned different types of jumps, and improved her flexibility & strength. Her highlights include performing at concerts at Christmas, Halloween, and during summer. Despite the glitter & glam of skating, there were bumps & bruises to go with it. As usual with Gaisce awardees, persistence pays off as Michelle fought through the hurt and continued to follow her passion. She often travels up to Belfast to use the Dundonald ice rink, due to the lack of ice rinks in the south.

She volunteered at Sunshine House in Balbriggan for her residential project. Sunshine House is a holiday camp for children form disadvantaged areas of Dublin, and gives them an opportunity to spend a week in a Sunshine House. She was responsible for looking after 12 boys between the ages of 6 & 12. She took care of them and they did lots of activities including arts & crafts, trips to the beaches, sports, movie nights, and treasure hunts. The children were never bored as they were always doing something. The high & low point was leaving the boys back home and saying goodbye. She was delighted that they were showing their families the pictures they drew during their time there and she was glad she could make a difference. She enjoyed the experience so much, that she signed up to do another 2 weeks for the following summer!

She took part in the Gaisce/Tar Eis Oir organised hike for her adventure journey. She met with other participants from Slovenia, Czech Republic, Ireland, and Latvia. They planned their hike for 3 days; forming teams, choosing routes, menu planning, and even practicing CPR methods. Each day they hiked from 8:30am to 9:00pm. After the 4 days of hiking, they had climbed a total of 24 mountains, and covered over 100km. After the hike, the group debriefed and enjoyed many of the sights in Dublin. Michelle believes that the hike changed her as a person, she showed her determination & strength, and that she can do something when she really puts her mind to it. She has since joined a Rover’s hiking club – as she was hooked after completing her adventure journey!

Previous
Next

Comments are closed.

Main Menu

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close