Christina Quinn

Christina stammt aus Galway City und hatte bereits ihren Bronze Gaisce Award erhalten, als sie sich entschied, ihren Gold Award mit Hilfe ihrer PAL Lorraine Tansey abzuschließen. Christina, die das Meer liebt, hat an der NUIG einen Abschluss in Meereswissenschaften gemacht.

Für ihr Engagement in der Gemeinschaft wurde Christina NUIG Development Officer für den Sub-Aqua Club, eine Position, die sie immer noch innehat. Als Komiteemitglied nimmt Christina jeden Mittwoch an regelmäßigen Treffen teil und bespricht die Führung des Clubs. Sie organisiert Clubveranstaltungen und ist verantwortlich für die Förderung des Sub-Aqua-Clubs in der breiteren Studentenschaft sowie für das Sammeln von Spenden und die Suche nach Sponsoren. Seit Christina Entwicklungsbeauftragte ist, hat sie viele Tischquiz für den Club und die Wohltätigkeitsorganisation organisiert, darunter "Helping Hands" und "Temple Street Children's Hospital".

Christina nahm Kunst als ihre persönliche Fähigkeit auf - es war immer etwas, an dem sie interessiert war, aber sie fand nie die Zeit dafür. Christina trat der Art Society in NUIG bei, wo der Lehrer Patrick 'Podge' Daly ihr viel über Zeichnen, Proportionen und Malen beibrachte. Die Gesellschaft unternahm eine Reise nach Berlin, wo sie sich mit deutschen Studenten traf und die Stadt und ihre Kunst erkundete. Während des Jahres half Christina bei der Organisation verschiedener Ausstellungen rund um das College, darunter das Muscailt Arts Festival. Jetzt, da Christina ihr eigenes Kunstportfolio hat, fühlt sie sich zuversichtlich genug, ihre eigenen Arbeiten auszustellen.

Für ihre körperliche Erholung entschied sie sich für das Laufen. Christinas Ziel war es, in Form zu kommen und einen vollen Marathon zu laufen. Im September 2012 nahm sie an ihrem ersten Marathon in Dingle Co. Kerry teil. Ein Teil ihres Trainings umfasste dreistündige Läufe, um sie auf das Langstreckenlaufen vorzubereiten. Anschließend nahm sie an vielen verschiedenen Rennen teil, darunter den Galway Bay 10km, den Run-a-Muck Challenge, den Kinvarra 10km und den Craughwell 10 Miler.

Für ihr Wohnprojekt unternahm Christina fünf Tage lang die jährliche Reise der NUIG nach Malin Beg, Co Donegal. Christina wurde zum Landmarschall für den Club ernannt, um sicherzustellen, dass alle sicher ins und aus dem Wasser kamen.

Für ihre Abenteuerreise unternahm sie eine Reise nach Nepal. Christina und einige ihrer Freunde meldeten sich freiwillig bei einem Waisenhaus und gingen während ihres Aufenthalts einige Tage wandern. Sie begannen die Wanderung in Talamarang, wo sich das Waisenhaus befand, und wanderten in Richtung Himalaya, bis sie das Sherpa-Dorf erreichten - auf einer Höhe von 3,600 m.

Vorher
Weiter

Kommentarfunktion ist abgeschaltet.

Inhalte

Christina Quinn

Christina Quinn

A native of Galway City, Christina had already achieved her Bronze Gaisce Award when she decided to complete her Gold Award with the help of her PAL Lorraine Tansey. Christina, who has a love of the sea,  undertook a degree in Marine Science in NUIG.

For her Community Involvement, Christina became NUIG Development Officer for the Sub-Aqua Club, a position she still holds.  As a committee member, Christina attends regular meetings every Wednesday and discusses the running of the club. She organises club events and is responsible for the promotion of the sub-aqua club to the wider student body, in addition to fundraising and finding sponsors. Since becoming Development Officer, Christina has organised many table quizzes for the club and charity including ‘Helping Hands’ and ‘Temple Street Children’s Hospital’.

Christina took up Art as her Personal Skill – it was always something she had an interest in, but never found the time to do it. Christina joined the Art Society in NUIG where teacher, Patrick ‘Podge’ Daly, taught her much about drawing, proportions and painting. The society went on a trip to Berlin where they met with German students and explored the city and its art. During the year, Christina assisted in organising various exhibitions around college, including the Muscailt Arts Festival. Now that Christina has her own art portfolio, she feels confident enough to exhibit her own work.

For her Physical Recreation, she chose running. Christina’s goal was to get in shape and run a full marathon. In September 2012, she took part in her first marathon in Dingle Co. Kerry. Part of her training included three-hour runs to prepare her for long-distance running. She then went on to take part in many different races including the Galway Bay 10km, Run-a-Muck Challenge, Kinvarra 10km and the Craughwell 10 Miler.

For her Residential Project, Christina went on the NUIG’s annual trip to Malin Beg, Co Donegal for five days. Christina was made ‘shore marshal’ for the club, ensuring that everyone got in and out of the water safely.

For her Adventure Journey, she embarked on a trip to Nepal. Christina and some of her friends volunteered with an orphanage, and during their stay went  hiking for a few days. Starting the hike in Talamarang, where the orphanage was, they hiked towards the Himalaya’s, reaching Sherpa Village – at a height of 3,600m.

Previous
Next

Comments are closed.

Main Menu

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close