افريل بوتيل

تحت الماء على شبكة الإنترنت

"لقد كان Gaisce حاسمًا في دفعني نحو المجالات التي أخطط لتركيز مسيرتي المهنية عليها في المستقبل"

بمساعدة Finola في NCAD ، تطوعت مع Solas ، للعمل مع أطفال من الشقق المحيطة. هناك ، أنشأت ناديًا فنيًا للأطفال وبعد عدة أسابيع عُرضت أعمالهم في NCAD. بعد ذلك أصبحت مرشدة للشباب في المنظمة. تضمن هذا الكثير من العمل الفردي مع صبي يبلغ من العمر 1 عامًا يدعى أنتو. أمضت الكثير من الوقت في التركيز على حبه للفن ، وسرعان ما أصبحت المنسقة الفنية للمجموعة. منذ العمل مع Solas ، عملت في مشاريع أخرى مع Finola مثل طريق الوصول إلى المستوى التعليمي الثالث ، بالإضافة إلى المعسكرات الصيفية للجمعيات الخيرية والمنظمات المجاورة.

كانت أفريل تعلم الناس كيفية العزف على البيانو ، وقد أكملت بالفعل شهادة شرف الصف الثامن من الأكاديمية الملكية للموسيقى ، لذلك كانت تهدف إلى تحسين مهاراتها لصالح طلابها. حصلت على معلمة بنفسها - أوصت بها RIAM - وبدأت عملها في الشهادة العليا. كانت تمارس ما بين ساعة و 8 ساعات كل يوم ، ومع اقتراب موعد الاختبار ، كانت تمارس ما بين 1-3 ساعات كل يوم! قدمت امتحانها في مايو 4 وأتت كل ممارساتها ثمارها حيث حصلت على تكريم من RIAM.

أكملت Avril جائزتها البرونزية والفضية أثناء وجودها في Colaiste Bride في Enniscorthy ، على طول الطريق تعلمت كيفية العزف على الجيتار ، ولعب لعبة الرجبي ، وتدريب التنس ، وتطوعت في أحد نوادي الهوكي ، ورحلت عبر أولارت هيل. بالانتقال إلى دبلن للدراسة في الكلية ، واجهت صعوبة في العثور على PAL في NCAD ، ولكن بعد الاتصال بـ Gaisce ، تم العثور على PAL ويمكنها أن تبدأ رحلتها المليئة بالأحداث للحصول على جائزتها الذهبية. كان هدف Avril هو إنهاء ذهبها قبل تخرجها من الكلية ، بهدف طويل المدى هو أن تصبح PAL في مدرسة في المستقبل.

وصفت أفريل قسم الاستجمام المادي الخاص بها بأنه "رحلة كارثية قليلاً ، لكنها رحلة مع ذلك". لطالما حلمت بتشغيل ماراثون ، لذا قامت بعمل برنامج تدريبي لنفسها. بعد شهرين ، لاحظت وجود آلام في كاحليها وركبتيها. بعد زيارة الطبيب ، قيل لها أن الماراثون ليس لها. على الرغم من هذا التحذير ، واصلت الجري ، حتى أنها تمكنت من إكمال مسافة 10 أميال - منتهيةً من الألم. استمرت في الركض وهي تعاني من آلام ، حتى ليلة واحدة حيث ألحقت أضرارًا بالغة في ركبتها أثناء التدريب. اكتشفت أفريل أنها أصيبت بتمزق في الرباط الصليبي والغضروف المفصلي. عمليتان جراحيتان و 2 أشهر من إعادة التأهيل الفيزيائي. لقد تغير هدف أفريل في إجراء ماراثون إلى القدرة على الجري في 8 أشهر. على الرغم من كل فترات الركود ، تعافت ركبة أفريل تمامًا قبل أن تتمكن من قبول جائزتها!

على الرغم من كونها من Enniscorthy وسافرت إلى دبلن للدراسة في الكلية ، شعرت Avril أنها تستحق أخيرًا اختبار طريقة Wicklow ، حيث لم ترها من قبل! بدأ طريقها في Enniskerry وانتهى في Tinahely. لقد جعلها إعادة التأهيل والتدريب في حالة جيدة للتنزه. عوضت المناظر المذهلة لطريق ويكلو عن سوء الأحوال الجوية. وشهد اليوم الأخير أنهم يكافحون للوصول إلى Tinahely ولكن - كما هو الحال مع معظم رحلات المغامرة - يتم تذكر راحة الانتهاء وأوقات المرح أكثر من المصاعب!

بالنسبة لمشروعها السكني ، كانت Avril تتمتع بتجربة العمر وتطوعت في الخارج. بعد أن جمعت 2000 يورو ، تم وضعها مع Art Relief International في شمال تايلاند. كان عليها كل يوم أن تكتب خطط الدروس ، وطرح الأفكار ، وجمع المواد مع المتطوعين الآخرين ، وتشرع في العمل مع المجموعة المخصصة لها. كانوا يعملون 9-5 في النهار ، ثم يستكشفون ويسافرون في الليل. لقد كانت تجربة رائعة لجميع المتطوعين. خصصت أفريل لنفسها أسبوعين للسفر بعد شهر من التطوع ، لكن رد الفعل التحسسي لأقراص الملاريا ولدغات البعوض كان يعني أنها اضطرت إلى قطع رحلتها والعودة إلى المنزل.

المقال السابق
التالى

التعليقات مغلقة.

القائمة الرئيسية

Avril Buttle

underwater-web

“Gaisce has been crucial in pushing me towards the areas that I plan on focusing my career in the future”

With the help of Finola in NCAD, she volunteered with Solas, working with kids from the surrounding flats. There, she set up an art club for the kids and after several weeks their work was exhibited in NCAD. After this she became a Youth Mentor in the organisation. This involved a lot of 1-to-1 work with a 15 year old boy, called Anto. She spent a lot of time focusing on his love for art, and soon became the art co-ordinator for the group. Since working with Solas, she has worked on other projects with Finola such as the Access route to 3rd Level Education, as well as summer camps for nearby charities & organisations.

Avril was teaching people how to play piano, and had already completed her grade 8 honour cert from Royal Academy of Music, so she aimed to improve her skills for the good of her students. She got herself a teacher – recommended by the RIAM – and began her senior cert. She practiced between 1 and 3 hours every day, and as her exam approached, she practiced between 4-6 hours every day! She sat her exam in May 2014 and all her practice paid off as she received an honour from the RIAM.

Avril completed her Bronze & Silver awards while at Colaiste Bride in Enniscorthy, along the way she learned how to play guitar, played tag rugby, coached tennis, volunteered in a hockey club, and trekked across Oulart Hill. Moving to Dublin for college, she had trouble finding a PAL in NCAD, but after getting in touch with Gaisce, a PAL was found and she could begin her very eventful journey to getting her Gold Award. Avril’s aim was to finish her gold before she graduated from college, with the long-term goal of becoming a PAL in a school in the future.

Avril described her physical recreation section as “a bit of a disaster journey, but a journey nonetheless”. She had always dreamed of running a marathon, so she made a training programme for herself. After two months, she noticed pains in her ankles & knees. After a visit to the doctor, she was told that marathons were not for her. Despite this warning, she continued her running, even managing to complete a 10 mile run – finishing in pain. She continued to run with pains, until one night where she did serious damage to her knee while training. Avril found out that she tore her cruciate ligament and meniscus. 2 surgeries, and 8 months of physio rehab followed. Avril’s aim to run a marathon had changed to being able to run in 9 months. Despite all the downturns, Avril’s knee fully recovered before she was able to accept her award!

Despite being from Enniscorthy and travelling to Dublin for college, Avril felt that she deserved to finally test the Wicklow Way, having never even seen it before! Her route began in Enniskerry and finished in Tinahely. The rehab and training had put her in good condition for the hike. The incredible views of the Wicklow Way compensated for the poor weather. The last day saw them struggle to get to Tinahely but – as with most adventure journeys – the relief of finishing and the fun times are remembered more than the hardship!

For her residential project, Avril had the experience of a lifetime and volunteered abroad. After raising €2000, she was placed with Art Relief International in Northern Thailand. Every day she had to write lesson plans, brainstorm, and gather materials with the other volunteers, and proceeded to work with her assigned group. They worked 9-5 in the daytime, then explored & travelled in the night time. It was an eye-opening experience for all the volunteers. Avril had allocated herself 2 weeks for travel after a month of volunteering, but an allergic reaction to malaria tablets & mosquito bites meant she had to cut her trip short and fly home.

Previous
Next

Comments are closed.

Main Menu

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close